Heart Chakra: What is it and why should we be paying attention

Chakras, by definition, are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Seven chakras are positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its vibrational frequency, color, and governs specific functions that help make you who you are.

The heart Chakra is located in the middle of your upper chest. When the heart chakra is open you may feel deeply connected to yourself and others, a feeling of openness and serenity will prevail. If this chakra is closed, you may feel like you are having a hard time connecting with others. The heart chakra also is associated with the Thymus gland which is responsible for hormone production and regulation of the immune system.

            Tips to unblock or maintain a healthy heart chakra are:

1)      practice self-love and self-care

2)      yoga poses that open the heart

3)      self-compassion

4)      try deep forgiveness of old wounds


Stones associated with the heart chakra: green aventurine, jade, rose quartz

Nutrition: warm soups and foods rich in vitamin C

Essential oils: rose, geranium, ylang-ylang, bergamot